First published work (sort of) in Voxx Magazine

While I don’t usually post on Tuesdays, I will break the pattern here since I have some great news. Yesterday a piece of flash fiction I wrote  was published in Voxx Magazine, a free volunteer lead magazine based in Lincolnshire, UK, that runs both online and in print. My piece is on Page 19, and is called The Smiling Man. I’ve been told it’s pretty creepy.

It’s a small start but now that I’ve done this I plan to submit short stories to competitions around the UK, while continuing to write for Voxx Magazine. I already have a few ideas for both the competitions and for my next Voxx submission, so watch this space. No doubt there will be more to come.

For those of you interested in checking out my story, you can do so here:  http://www.voxxonline.com/voxx-57/

4 thoughts on “First published work (sort of) in Voxx Magazine

    • It was actually quite interesting reading it in print. More than anything I’ve become aware of the house style of the magazine and how it might affect future works. There are a few things which I might do differently for the next one.

      Like

      • They didn’t change anything as far as I can tell. It was more the way the magazine was formatted and how it made my work look on the printed page. For example, they used quite a small font and I didn’t like way the italics came out as a result. Of course, the font is just part of their house style so I don’t get any say in that. Hence in my next work I might try using thought segments without italics, see if that comes out any better.

        Like

Leave a Reply

